facebook twitter twitter
This website is neither affiliated with nor endorsed by any government agency
Home > Military Resources > U.S. Military Ranks > U.S. Coast Guard Warrant Officer Ranks
| More

U.S. Coast Guard Warrant Officer Ranks

A Coast Guard Chief Warrant Officer (CWO) is considered part of the officer corps and is expected to bridge the gap between the enlisted force and the commissioned officer corps. A CWO, being a technical expert in a given specialty, has the ability to completely understand and communicate with an enlisted technician; not only because he/she has the technical knowledge, but also because he/she has been a member of the enlisted force. In addition, a CWO has the leadership ability of a commissioned officer, so he/she is able to effectively communicate up and down the chain of command.

In order to become a Chief Warrant Officer in the United States Coast Guard, an individual must first serve as an enlisted member of the branch, and once he/she attains the grade of E-6, that individual may apply to become a CWO. This enlisted individual must have demonstrated strong technical expertise and leadership abilities that exceed that of his/her peers.

Possessing a college degree will significantly increase your chances to earn a promotion to the Warrant Officer ranks. It is not a requirement to hold a college degree to secure this promotion; however, it will make you stand out amongst your peers. To find schools that support your drive to earn a degree, click on the "Find A School" button below:

Coast Guard Warrant Officer 1 (WO1)
Warrant Officer 1
The United States Coast Guard discontinued the use of the Warrant Officer 1 (WO1) rank In 1995.
Navy Chief Warrant Officer 2 (CWO2)
Chief Warrant Officer 2 (CWO2)
A highly qualified enlisted individual who has attained the grade of E-6 is eligible to apply to become a Warrant Officer. An individual selected by a board will be commissioned as a Chief Warrant Officer 2 (CWO2) in the Coast Guard.
Navy Chief Warrant Officer 3 (CWO3)
Chief Warrant Officer 3 (CWO3)

A Chief Warrant Officer can serve in a variety of different specialties, such as communications, naval engineering, aviation engineering, material maintenance, personnel administration, public information, boatswain, and intelligence systems specialist.

Navy Chief Warrant Officer 4 (CWO4)
Chief Warrant Officer 4 (CWO4)

A Chief Warrant Officer is expected to possess strong leadership skills and have the ability to handle greater responsibility than that of a senior enlisted member. He/she has extensive experience in a specialty and can perform duties in an administrative or technical capacity.

Navy Chief Warrant Officer 5 (CWO5)
Chief Warrant Officer 5 (CWO5)
The Coast Guard has been authorized to use the Chief Warrant Officer 5 (CWO5) rank, but it is not currently in use.
Home  |  About Us  |  Contact Us  |  Site Map
© 2010 - 2011 All Rights Reserved.